Oceania Championships and Middle Earth Programme of Events

Day 1: Friday 14 April 2017 – Oceania Sprint (Easter Friday)

Unitec Institute of Technology (Mt Albert Campus), Auckland.

Day 2: Saturday 15 April 2017 – Oceania Long

Woodhill Forest, Rototoa, approx 90 minutes north-west of Auckland

Day 3: Sunday 16 April 2017 – Oceania Relay

Woodhill Forest, Lake Kereta, approx 80 minutes north-west of Auckland

Day 4: Monday 17 April 2017 – Oceania Middle (Easter Monday)

Ponganui Road, Onewhero, approx 80 minutes south of Auckland

Day 5: Wednesday 19 April 2017 – Middle Earth (Middle/Long Distance)

Rotorua – Forest Map

Day 6: Thursday 20 April 2017 – Middle Earth (Sprint Distance)

Rotorua CBD/Surrounds

OCEANIA CHAMPIONSHIPS PROGRAMME OF CEREMONIES

Prizegivings will be held for:

    • 14th April – Oceania Sprint Championships – approx 3.30pm
    • 15th April – Oceania Long Distance Championships – approx 3.30pm
    • 16th April – Oceania Relay Championships – approx 12.30pm
    • 17th April – Oceania Middle Distance Championships – approx 1.30pm

SOCIAL EVENTS

Wednesday 19th April Te Puia Cultural Show and Dinner (Rotorua)

For those who are planning on travelling to Rotorua for the ‘Middle Earth’ carnival (between Oceania and World Masters), we have some special offers from Te Puia for you to enjoy in your downtime.

Te Puia is located only minutes from central Rotorua and is home to the world famous Pohutu Geyser as well as the New Zealand Maori arts and crafts Institute.

They will be hosting a traditional Hangi dinner as well as a cultural performance for orienteers on the 18th April (pre-bookings only)

Programme:

      • 6.00pm Arrival
      • 6.15pm Lifting of the Hangi Food
      • 6.30-7.15pm 45min Cultural Show
      • 7.30pm Dinner
      • 8.20pm Hot Chocolate by the Geyser
      • Depart by 8.45pm

Tickets are $84 Adults, $42 Children and available to purchase online here

In addition to this, they are offering a 15% discount on day passes to all participants with proof of entry.

World Masters Orienteering Championships

(at World Masters Games)

For more information visit http://www.worldmastersgames2017.co.nz/ or http://www.orienteering.org.nz/world-masters-2017/

Friday 21 April 2017

Event centre opens and Opening Ceremony

Saturday 22 April 2017

Model event – sprint

Sunday 23 April 2017

Sprint qualification

Monday 24 April 2017

Sprint final

Prize giving ceremony

Tuesday 25 April 2017 (Rest day)

Model event – long distance

Wednesday 26 April 2017

Long distance qualification #1

Thursday 27 April 2017

Long distance qualification #2

Friday 28 April 2017 (Rest day)

Saturday 29 April 2017

Long distance final

Prize giving

Sunday 30 April 2017

Closing Ceremony